Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility
Skip to main content


New Residential and Commercial Development

Redevelopment Projects

The Norwalk Redevelopment Agency is a quasi-governmental planning organization governed by a Board of Commissioners. The Agency’s five commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Common Council. These Commissioners elect a Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer. Redevelopment plans and implementation efforts are reviewed and approved by the citizen-elected Common Council.

The Norwalk Redevelopment Agency’s work is concentrated within Norwalk’s Urban Core. This jurisdiction covers five redevelopment and urban renewal areas: Wall Street – West Avenue, Reed – Putnam, Washington – South Main, South Norwalk, and Lexington. Through grant procurement, progressive planning and collaboration with City departments, the Norwalk Redevelopment Agency proactively works to preserve and improve existing neighborhoods by attracting new development within these priority areas.